30
Sep
10

Spock Ears soon for sale

Well it appears I’m back on again with the Spock Ears. A company I’ll name at a later date will more than likely sell these as they are Paramount licensed. More on that later. What I’m doing now is taking the ears I started on my wifes ear casts a year ago and finally finishing them as a test. The bases are dental stone and the molds are silicone on piece molds with a dental stone mother mold. Currently they sit in my shop poured in the silicone and tomorrow once set up I’ll add the stone mother molds.

I’m testing Skin Flex A,B,C for those of you in the know over foam latex because it’s my hope that they can be reused. Urethane is a lot stronger than foam rubber and it will last for years and years where as foam rubber will just rot away. If all works out these will be sold as Spock Ears and come in small and large sizes.

Here are the old sculptures re worked. The clay around the edges is to facilitate flow and ecape of the excess material once it’s pressed into the molds.

More later on,

Steve

3 Responses to “Spock Ears soon for sale”


  1. 1 Mike
    September 30, 2010 at 3:24 am

    Hi Steve,

    Sell ‘em to the fantasy folks as elf ears too…

    Mike

  2. 2 ed
    November 17, 2010 at 8:30 am

    Steve,

    I’m selling EARS used by Leonard Nimoy in SAR TREK IV – THE VOYAGE HOME. I have signed, certified and verified documents signed by Nimoy and Paramount Studios the EARS are genuine. We purchased them 4 months before the opening of the movie. We bought them in LA in June 1986. The movie opened November 26, 1986. We have owned them for 24 years.

    • November 18, 2010 at 1:07 am

      Very cool. Watch how you store them foam rubber doesn’t last long if exposed to sunlight, ozone and LA’s bad air quality. I had some from the show and they have long rotted away. Keep them sealed from air and in a dark place. I’m amazed they’ve lasted this long.

      Steve


Leave a Reply

My Big Enterprise scratch build

A little something current

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 267 other followers

About me


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 267 other followers

