29
Nov
10

Oh my………………

Today I built the other side of the secondary hull and cut the neck out which will later have some simple structure added to it, sheeted, with and thick leading and trailing edge add to it made out of balsa and sanded to shape.
I couldn’t resist propping up the saucer against this structure for a look. This is a bigger model than I have realized up to this point. My goodness. I’m going to go broke making the molds on this model. I figure about 1000 bucks just for the RTV silicone to mold all the parts! Time to starting hunting for deals.

Here’s a picture of a 58 year old big kid and his dream toy! Talk about geek!

Steve

12 Responses to “Oh my………………”


  1. 1 Jeff Porteous
    November 29, 2010 at 4:25 am

    All hail to the over-50-year-old geeks of the world — I’m honored to be a member of said club myself, bro’. May your payment for your next year’s work on my Seaview go at least in part to mold-making supplies or other building or parts necessities for your Big Girl. Can’t wait to see her in person!

    Live Long and Prosper,
    JeffP

  2. 2 Jennie
    November 29, 2010 at 8:48 am

    This is just amazing Steve!! You do such brilliant pieces of art.And hey being a Big Kid is what life is all about,if you arent enjoying it,it isnt worth doing!.

  3. November 29, 2010 at 9:08 am

    Geeks have more fun than Jock’s. What you you rather do, spend Sunday watching football, or spend it building something like this!!! Looks great Steve…….

  4. 6 deg
    November 29, 2010 at 8:46 pm

    Oh yeah, gettin’ our geek on. Sweet. :D

    deg

    • 7 deg
      November 29, 2010 at 8:49 pm

      Ah yeah, me too, U8! Even thought I’m no longer a shorty, I’m still a kid. Never saw the logic of out-growing the fun-n-wonder part of myself.

      Child-like, not childish. ;)

      deg

      • 8 deg
        November 29, 2010 at 8:53 pm

        Love the pirate flag too, reminds me of my ELP skull and scimitar t-shirt. I’m sure you’ve heard Pirates by the boys.

        “Who’ll make his mark”, the captain cried.
        “To the devil drink a toast.
        We’ll glut the hold with cups of gold
        And we’ll feed the sea with ghosts
        I see your hunger for a fortune
        Could be better served beneath my flag…

        deg

  5. November 29, 2010 at 9:15 pm

    Thanks Deg! I could agree more!

    I have this big Radio Controlled Pirate ship. Thus the flag!

    I have that shirt too! And a few other things. The Gato boat under it is fully functional too and a lot of those boats during WW2 flew that flag!

    Steve

  6. 11 John
    November 30, 2010 at 1:42 am

    Looking good there Capt.! Are you going to do a Shuttlecraft at the same scale?


Leave a Reply

My Big Enterprise scratch build

A little something current

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 259 other followers

About me


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers

