15
Mar
13

garage 197


6 Responses to “garage 197”


  1. 1 Brian Cebula
    March 15, 2013 at 4:50 am

    Dear Steve,

    Well Azteca decals are clearly, clearly a challenging thing to place. I just am wondering…I said this on Facebook. With the Refitted NCC-1701 and the Reliant, those original models for that film. Did they use a “Proto-Azteca” type of surface that resembled more of a Space Shuttle put together, with all her thermal tiles. I always thought the “Azteca” name originated from The Enterprise-D hull surface which you know well.

    It seems to me that an NX would of had..”Hull Plating” decals as opposed to “Azteca.” Do you believe a name created from Star Trek : The Next Generation hull decor..or surface decor just carried itself through the modeling business for all Star Trek Ships? With the obvious exception of Matt Jeffries Original 1701.

    It is abundantly clear to me that “Azteca” became the way to surface detail Starships during TNG and all Subsequent Shows…DS9 etc…AND when Ships were rendered into CGI the type of “Azteca” surface became standard even on Miranda Class vessels in DS9.

    Perhaps the execeptions for Federation vessels were runabouts and the Defiant. I don’t picture the Defiant having an “Azteca” covered hull…since…well her hull was unlike other Federation ships..some sort of armor.

    I would love to hear your thoughts on this. I still have people believe a grid belongs on Matt Jeffries Original Enterprise. This drives me nuts!

    Take Care Steve and Rosie,
    Brian

  2. 2 Uncle Ted
    March 15, 2013 at 6:16 am

    That first shot of the Seaview with the wires around the “interior” looked like a shot from the show. The latest “monster of the week” had eaten the hull or something.

    I love what you did with the interior lights. And the bay for the flying sub is perfect. It’s almost too bad that it will be hard to see it. Looking forward to what you do with the base.

    Uncle Ted.

  3. 3 colt45john@hotmail.com
    March 15, 2013 at 8:25 am

    The interior on the seaview is amazing, I almost expect to see a tiny captain Crane in there! I have an “off the
    wall” question for you Steve. What Amperage of power supply would you use for lets say a 1/350 refit? Would a 2amp be enough or should it be more?

    Thanks
    John

  4. March 15, 2013 at 6:47 pm

    Steve, Thanks so much for answering my questions yesterday. I have one more for ya and then promise to get out of your hair. I have looked endlessly for tips on how to paint clear parts without brush marks. I’m trying to paint the deflector dish on the 1/1000 refit and airbrush isn’t really an option. I’ve tried to thin the paint down and i’m still getting lines. Any tips? I’m using Tamiya X23 Clear Blue paint. Thanks again for sharing your knowledge.

    • March 15, 2013 at 7:04 pm

      Jason get an airbrush! It’s the only way.

      Steve

      • April 19, 2013 at 8:28 pm

        Thanks Steve.
        I just saw this today. I went back through and re-watched the NX build and saw how you did it. I got a nice airbrush and am now in the process of learning to use it.
        As always, Thanks for inspiring us all and you’ll never realize how much of an impact you’ve made in my life.
        Keep the videos coming,
        Jason


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 299 other followers


