24
Apr
13

garage 237


7 Responses to “garage 237”


  1. April 24, 2013 at 4:20 am

    I’m happy for ya. I’m glad to see things turning out. Glad I’m not the only one to think of the show. Finally something to watch.

  2. April 24, 2013 at 4:50 am

    Steve,

    It’s wonderful news to hear that you could be gracing the airwaves with your show. I can’t think of too many people that could better bring awareness and excitement to model/prop making!

    I wish you the best of luck for the show in general as well as finding cast members. I know I would jump a the chance. Too bad I live about 2000 miles a way.

    Take care, and may your endeavors be prosperous!

    -Jonathan

  3. 3 orange_blend (Mike Bergeron)
    April 24, 2013 at 5:21 am

    If only I was in LA!!!!

    I’m young (ish) and in Toronto. Want to move the show over here? 😀 Lol

    Best of luck Steve! You know I’ll be tuning in!

    ~Mike

  4. April 24, 2013 at 5:32 am

    Love the videos. If you are still looking to replace the crappy Sony camera, maybe you should try a Pivothead camera. Then whatever you look at we will all see. You can see the cameras here. http://pivothead.com/ They are not too expensive.

  5. April 24, 2013 at 2:57 pm

    Incidental music from “Shore Leave.” THANK YOU!!! Go right for the best! Just in time, too–the old SNGWRTWD incidental music was stuck in my ear like a Ceti eel!

  6. April 24, 2013 at 5:39 pm

    I have to chime in on something here that Steve has mentioned a few times and I see with other jobs and hobbies. I see posts all the time over on The RPF saying, “I wish I could build _____ as well as you guys did.” The main difference between Steve and a lot of us is experience. We can build models as well as Steve but we will take longer, maybe a lot, and we will make more mistakes. With his experience Steve knows what not to do and easier ways of doing things. Let me give you an example: A couple weeks ago he was talking about cutting sheet styrene. I am sure he just put a ruler down, made a quick scribe (just not on the saucer section) or two and snapped it off. I did it for the first time over the weekend and I carefully lined up the ruler, made maybe four or five scribes and then carefully snapped the cut. What took me a minute or two he probably did in 15 seconds.

    So just relax, take your time, and have fun. None of the mistakes you make will be a total disaster. Unless you are using power tools, be careful around those. And maybe start out simple. I got a “Klingon Battle Cruiser” model for my birthday and I’m going to take my time and light that sucker up. Relatively low part count and nothing complicated, but it is going to be a learning experience for me because I have not built a kit since I was young and was happy with the results from using a tube of plastic cement. I did not even think about painting anything back then, so that is something else I have to learn. I imagine what would have taken me a weekend twenty years ago is going to take the better part of a month of actual construction time (I’m thinking of scratch building a scale TOS computer at the same time).

  7. April 25, 2013 at 6:28 am

    You stopped playing Star Trek Online? I guess that means I can remove you from my friends list. 😛 (when/if I ever play that game again) Good luck getting them to close your account, MMO games aren’t big on doing that because you’re just a stastic to them.


Leave a Reply

April 2013
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 296 other followers


