06
Aug
13

garage 304


3 Responses to “garage 304”


  1. August 6, 2013 at 3:16 pm

    Shop is looking great! I like the Zena rug, nice touch…

  2. 2 Lou (Aztek Dummy)
    August 6, 2013 at 7:48 pm

    Steve,
    Man I hate that you had a problem with the masks. We talked about it maybe being a bad batch, But I can’t remember how long ago I cut those for you.

    Something you said you did really jumped out at me, tho… You used soapy water to place the vinyl? you didn’t mention that in your correspondence.

    While it’s true that it will allow you to move it around a bit while you are putting it down, it also (as the soapy water dries) increases the adhesive nature of the vinyl dramatically. I only use soapy water when I am making a vinyl sign that goes on a metal blank that I want to stay good and stuck for years, and never use it on a model or in an application where the vinyl is temporary. How would you say the areas of residue correspond to the parts where you used the soapy water?

    the other ill effect of using the soapy water is that one has the desire to rub down the vinyl extra hard to squeegee out the water and that excess pressure will also work against you.

    I’m not saying that’s the whole story, but I’ve had similar stories from folks who also used the water method and had residue/liftoff issues.

  3. August 6, 2013 at 8:11 pm

    Steve-
    thank you, thank you so much for showing my working on the blog! I really appreciate it.
    For anyone interested in prints or commissions feel free to contact me:
    email- jarednwynn@gmail.com
    phone-208-871-8572

    thanks Steve and keep up the excellent work!


Leave a Reply

August 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 295 other followers


