15
Jul
14

SNG Daily 7-15-14

I got a lot more on the Enterprise D today and the Skydiver. On the d I managed to nearly finish the windows except for the neck which I’ll get done tomorrow and then it’s all downhill. I started this build about 7 weeks ago. I’ve been building both the Skydiver and the D at the same time too so it’s been a fairly brisk build. But always the big problem is keeping the pain stuck to this clear model that reminds me of Teflon. Once the windows are done it gets the clear coat which will stop anymore chipping of the paint one hopes.
I have another one of these kits and all the aftermarket parts for it for our show room but I think I’ll build something else like the Bad Azz BSG I have sitting waiting for me. Besides it’s in our script that Bill and Heidi Hughes wrote for our short film: “Martians Attack SNG”. So it’s a prop. Works for me.
The skydiver now has all its panel lines back long sanded into oblivion by its former owner. I still have to do the bottom side tomorrow but it has less and will hardly ever be seen. Should go quick. In the sequence of photos you see the process of sanding the top of the tape first, removing the tape, sanded the overlap edges of and dusting the hull to reveal nice crisp panel lines.
Oh that’s me in the sixth finger mask. It fits well but needs more padding up top which is why I’m holding it up with my fist.

1

2

D1

d3 - Copy

 

DSC02728

DSC02733

DSC02738

DSC02741

DSC02742

DSC02743

DSC02749

DSC02752

e


2 Responses to “SNG Daily 7-15-14”


  1. 1 Warren Fahy
    July 15, 2014 at 8:36 pm

    Awesome work, Steve. What’s so great about the mask is I can see David McCallum under it! How did you do that?! : ) Just great.

  2. July 15, 2014 at 9:55 pm

    You know I love your model work. It’s awesome, stupendous. However, seeing that mask really makes my day. I love old school masks like that. They’re just freaking awesome. In my humble opinion, CGI is no replacement for “real” aliens and creatures done by special effects makeup artists like you, who can transform an actor into said alien or creature. It’s the best. 😀


Leave a Reply

July 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 298 other followers


