22
Jul
14

SNG Daily 7-22-14

Ok here it goes. I get all the rest of the decals on in record time. I say to myself, “Steve you can clear coat it tomorrow. You’re done.” Then I look at the Christie’s auction photos of the D one last time and it hits me. Where is 10 Forward? In fact where are all the fraking windows that line the saucer leading edge?
I check the model and the L.E. no windows. Not one even scored into the hull. I look at the lower section and it has them. But they are all over the map. Uneven. So I look at endless pictures of the D and get a feel for the windows. I mark them all on the top side L.E. of the saucer with a fine sharpie. I do the same for the lower saucer section.
Then using my special tool I proceed to scratch away the windows so some of them glow. But on the edge all they do is chip the paint and it’s not pretty. I get what I consider to be a less then thrilling job done and move on to the top section. This time there’s no scribes to scratch within. Horrible. Just awful.
What to do, sitting there in the darkened room. I look at the table and the tools there and one of my rat tail files jumps out at me with its sharp edge. I take it to the edge of the saucer and file. Bingo a perfect window and no chipping. In less than an hour the entire top saucer leading edge is done.
So tomorrow I’ll clean up and the lower saucer edge and do the same thing. I also started the few windows on the engineering section. You guessed it, AMT has no windows there either. Me fix.
She looks done in these pictures and she will be tomorrow. Honest.
DSC02862

DSC02864

DSC02865

DSC02866

DSC02867

DSC02868

DSC02869

DSC02870

DSC02871

DSC02872

DSC02873

DSC02874

DSC02876

DSC02877

DSC02878


5 Responses to “SNG Daily 7-22-14”


  1. July 22, 2014 at 9:07 pm

    Steve, you’re truly a miracle worker. The D is gorgeous.

  2. 3 Brad H
    July 22, 2014 at 9:14 pm

    Its a thing of beauty Steve! Looks like its right off the screen of Next Gen!

  3. July 22, 2014 at 9:20 pm

    For the record, Ten Forward is on the lower leading edge. The contours of the windows prove that, plus they did at least one “outside looking in” shot. (I believe it was in “The Child,” the first episode to feature Ten Forward) However, the top edge should definitely have matching windows. Exactly how the saucer edge windows look depends on which model you’re looking at, the 6-foot or the 4-foot. But, they both had windows there and that was a bad miss by AMT.

    However, as usual, the miracle worker prevails. Great job on getting that fixed. 😀


Leave a Reply

July 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 298 other followers


