07
Nov
14

SNG Daily 11-7-14

I spent the entire day working on the “First Contact” Phaser rifle that Hank Zimmerman gave us at SNG.

I could not find the recommended paint base color that HMS recommends in the instructions on Roddenberry.com. They said something about Plastic Coat metallic gray. But I did find Krylon Stainless steel. The same color as it turns out. I was unhappy at first with the results as the paint had a textured dark fleck look to it but I later found out that it was a dust and it buffed out to a beautiful stainless steel look.

I did a lot of masking and painted some of the areas of the rifle gun metal. The rest a buffed out flat black to give it a semi flat look.

It’s a beautiful piece and it is nearly done. Another couple of hours of tweaking and she can be hung on our wall and used in the film. Complete with lights and sounds, and let us not forget and blue laser.

Steve

IMG_0546 IMG_0549 IMG_0550 IMG_0558 IMG_0560 IMG_0561


5 Responses to “SNG Daily 11-7-14”


  1. November 7, 2014 at 6:59 pm

    It looks awesome, Steve. At least as good as it did 18 years ago. 😀

  2. November 7, 2014 at 7:11 pm

    Hard to believe its been that long Chris.
    Thanks

    • November 8, 2014 at 9:03 am

      I know, I had to think about how long it had been. 😉 My dad and I went to see it in the theater and it totally blew my mind. I loved everything about it, the story and especially the design work by John Eaves. From big stuff like the Enterprise-E, down to smaller props, like the phasers, it was a visual feast. (Alex Jaeger’s CGI fleet is cool too) Man, it brings back so many memories and makes me want to break out the DVD and watch it again. 😀

  3. November 8, 2014 at 11:29 am

    It’s the best Star Trek film ever for me. And I agree on all counts. But get the Bluray! OMG. The battle is so amazing in hi res.


Leave a Reply

November 2014
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 299 other followers


