18
Dec
14

SNG Pictures 12-18-14

Lots and lots of work have been put in this puppet and we aren’t halfway yet. Today I made the eyes. Basically what I did was turn some wood eye blanks on the lathe. I reduced their size from the bucks I vacuum formed the sockets. This was done because I planned to vacuum form the actual eyes so I needed to account for the thickness of the plastic once vacuum formed or the eye forms. Follow?
I vacuum formed the eyes. Then I made flat spots on the forms for and iris. Painted them white, added the iris and popped them back into the clear vacuum formed exterior.
Next week’s videos and selfies will show how this all came about and in action but it you look at the series of pictures of the under skull with the eyes you will see the range of movement they have. Next week I’ll hook up the servos and take them for a spin.
I loosely placed the skin on the under skull to see this guy with his eyes open for the first time. Although the skin isn’t fitting tight against the eyes themselves just yet it will be next week after I get the other movements installed and the skin locked down.
Tomorrow we are shooting all day our movie “Martians Attack SNG”.

M-0 M-1 M-2 M-3 M-4


4 Responses to “SNG Pictures 12-18-14”


  1. December 18, 2014 at 9:44 pm

    Crap, now he’s just STARING at me. 😉

    Seriously, great stuff. Those eyes look insanely cool.

  2. December 19, 2014 at 5:47 am

    Maybe you should contact puppeteer Jeff Dunham, he has mastered the art of making puppets. Gotta love Walter!…LOL!

  3. December 19, 2014 at 5:47 am

    Oh and Achmed the Terrorist!………Hahahaha


Leave a Reply

December 2014
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 300 other followers


