16
Apr
15

SNG Weekly EP 34 – The Big E


3 Responses to “SNG Weekly EP 34 – The Big E”


  1. 1 Greg
    April 17, 2015 at 3:39 am

    I, for one, really enjoy the movie making segments.

    I’m getting farther along on my own model also. And here I thought I was the only one left having not finished the model. I have most of the lighting done. I used the LED strips for the lights. I stuck them on styrene strips and then glued them to the wood and also stapled the strips down. I was concerned the glue would come loose over time. Next I need to build some circuits for flashing. For strobes I’m using the LM3909 and with just a single capacitor.
    On the nacelles I fiberglassed the two pieces together and used a brush attached to a dowel rod to coat the resin along that line. I have been trying to figure out how to accomplish what you are doing with the nacelles to keep from drooping.

  2. 2 Greg
    April 17, 2015 at 4:04 am

    The biggest problem I had was with those damn windows. I must have popped them out at least a half dozen times. I had a hard time getting that dental acrylic to look descent. Since they weren’t really clear I tried to make them look somewhat frosty. I even tried the glass frosting but that didn’t turn out. I even tried clear resin but it would never cure properly. It stayed somewhat soft.
    I did recast some of the intercoolers, if that’s what they’re called. That piece that is textured that you originally made a groove to accommodate I took the one I liked the best and made several others.
    Since this is the first model I’ve actually done it has been a very good learning experience. I would have never thought of re-casting parts etc., so all the knowledge you have given will translate to the many other models I intend to do.
    If you use dental acrylic how will you be able to see in the windows.

  3. April 22, 2015 at 6:49 pm

    Sorry, but I’m going to have to disagree with you. THX 1138 was a wretched film. It was so bad I didn’t even finish watching it. Of movies George Lucas has directed, Star Wars is my favorite. (If anybody asks “which one?” just slap yourself, because only one was originally titled simply “Star Wars,” which is what the VHS cover said when I watched it growing up.)

    The Enterprise I’m loving. I got into the first one you built towards the end, so it’s great seeing it from the beginning. It’s really interesting seeing how the internal structure and whatnot is done.


Leave a Reply

April 2015
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 295 other followers


