27
Nov
16

New personal project. A 6 foot Iron Giant from scratch!

Many of you probably don’t know I’m a huge “Iron Giant” fan. And if you don’t know what that is look it up and then see the movie. I insist.

I wanted to get the now 300 dallor Mondo 16 inch figure. Then I thought “why do that when I can scratch build a 6 foot model?” I asked Adam Savage about this and if he had any good reference.

He told me according to his friend Brad Bird (the director of the film)it was highly accurate. Nearly perfect. So I started collecting information last night so I could as early as next week start on this childhood dream of having a big robot as a friend.

lots of my friends have Robbie and the B9 robot from “Lost in Space” and as much as I wanted them too I want the Iron Giant more. The reasons are abundant.

A scratch build that’s not a plane, boat, or Star Ship. A freaking change. Here we go.


7 Responses to “New personal project. A 6 foot Iron Giant from scratch!”


  1. 1 Brad
    November 27, 2016 at 10:46 am

    Hey Steve, I can’t wait to see you start on that. I’m a huge robot fan. I loved Iron Giant. I am very excited to see you built this, its going to look amazing! Wish I was there to lend an hand!

  2. November 27, 2016 at 11:09 am

    Hey Brad! Thanks. I can’t either! Be sure to check your older emails I sent you one about the intro needed fir But Something is There.

  3. 3 Norman Fair
    November 27, 2016 at 1:10 pm

    This should be good. I’m really looking forward to this one.

  4. 4 Aaron
    November 28, 2016 at 3:10 am

    AWESOME!!! A friend called Adam when he needed reference material on the back panel of the Ark of the Covenant. Apparently, the relief carvings on that side are never shown in the movie. Adam responded with digital photographs. Beyond creating an accurate Ark replica, I said, “Wait, you ‘just called’ Adam Savage? Who does that?” Adam is my personal hero and having lunch with him someday is at the top of my wish list. EXCITED to see the progression of your new project!!!!

  5. November 28, 2016 at 6:44 am

    NICE! Looking forward to it!
    One of my favorites too!

  6. November 28, 2016 at 10:06 am

    What an outstanding project! Eager to watch this one!

  7. November 28, 2016 at 10:44 pm

    Thanks for all the comments guys. I’m glad you all like the project and the movie…but really? Who wouldn’t love that movie and if they didn’t…well…I…can’t go there. I’m am hot on this.


Leave a Reply

November 2016
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 296 other followers


