26
Dec
16

Big Enterprise Built this year

I don’t know if I ever posted this on the blog before. It was originally private on YouTube. This was built for a friend in Texas to hang from his ceiling. I later found out that the D was not from the auction but rather from “The Star Trek Experience” which was in Vegas.

This model is now hanging with the D.

This was one of my favorite projects to do this year. We at SNG are most proud of this build.

And once again I want to thank Doug Drexler. Without Doug’s help and support on this scratch build project over 4 years ago now, none of this would be possible.

 

image

image

 

 


3 Responses to “Big Enterprise Built this year”


  1. December 26, 2016 at 4:21 pm

    Woohoo! Nice Big E. I need to show more work on the Eleven Foot Prop Replica I’ve been working on. Have gotten so many builds the last year that I’ve had very little time for anything. Need to get a new movie up and them move onto showing some of the other work I’ve done this past year.

  2. 2 Greg
    December 26, 2016 at 4:57 pm

    And here I am still working on mine. Well, I’m just about done though. About the only thing left is the top of the saucer. It is all painted decaled and weathered and just have to attach it. I need to build some type of box for the circuit boards and switches and speaker. I’m going to use an MP3 board with various sound files that have been edited and put together to make essentially a scene. It will also include the command to fire phasers and then actually fire blue lasers. I’ll have to put the top on with the lights to see whether or not the blue lasers will interfere with the window lighting. After thinking about it for awhile I can use two pieces of tubing where one fits into another and spread them apart to fit snugly against the laser and hull and then drop some glue into the seam.

    One thing I’ve found is this is quite a difficult undertaking for a first time completed model build. With almost every part I had to redo things two or three times. Twice I tried weathering the top and ended up repainting it all over again. Finally I go the hang up adding a bit of weathering without it looking like a mess.

    Not long ago I went to that museum’s web site and there wasn’t really anything there with your model. There was only a mention of it with a picture and that was all. A REAL Big Disappointment.

  3. December 28, 2016 at 9:49 am

    Beautiful display! Thank you so much for sharing.


Leave a Reply

December 2016
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 299 other followers


