27
Jan
17

And BTW

Just a note to my subscribers. I am not a huge fan of Mac products. I have both PC and Mac and find them both equally annoying.

The last post I sent out has spelling errors and typos I watched this iPad do as I write. I type much and it turns it into mush. The word mush. WTF? It caps words that shouldn’t be. Puts periods in odd places and it I don’t proof read I’m screwed.

So the last post in your email box is messed up but if you actually visit and read it from the blog it is corrected…always.


6 Responses to “And BTW”


  1. January 27, 2017 at 8:04 am

    I don’t know anything about iPad (don’t want to) but I have auto correct turned off on my Android devices. You should be able to do something like that. Check your keyboard settings.

  2. January 27, 2017 at 12:06 pm

    First thing I usually do is turn off autocorrect, having said that I do have one android tablet I’ve left it alone as it isn’t as obtrusive as others I’ve seen.

  3. January 27, 2017 at 7:57 pm

    One thing I always hated about Macs was how you couldn’t see the file system. Apple figured artists were buying Macs, and that artists were too stupid to figure out a file system. (AS IF! It’s a goddam tree! What, they think artists can’t understand effing trees?!)

    Anyhow, Windows Explorer (aka File Mangler) has been getting more and more like a Mac, as if Microsoft also thinks Window users are stupid. Well, we must be to put up with Windows, starting way back when it gave us the Blue Screen of Death. Remember how that Windows 95 commercial had that Rolling Stones song “Start Me Up?” For some reason, it stopped before it got to “You make a grown man cry!”

  4. January 28, 2017 at 10:02 am

    Mac user here and I have few, if any, problems. And I also proofread anything I write not leaving anything to chance. Turn off Auto-Correct is it’s a problem and then you only have yourself to blame. No technology is perfect.

    The file system on Macs is actually great with all the salient file information readily and easily available and productivity friendly though I won’t mind it if a ZFS file system shows up. Windows is and has always been user unfriendly kludge. One giant mess of a UI that does it’s best to get in your way.

    • January 28, 2017 at 12:18 pm

      I have both in spades.Mac and PC. Hate them both for different reasons. LOL!

      For visual effects we use,(and I say we as 90 percent of the visual effects industry does) every studio I know of and have worked with is PC preferred. More bang for the buck, towers that are user friendly to upgrade more easily. OS? it sucks. everyone knows that. I fucking hate Microsoft. We have all kept pretty much to Win 7 pro which for the most part, stripped down and gutted of auto update runs smooth as glass. But you have to have and should have computer skills.
      Then there’s something else. Video games. Especially high end FPS games. Mac doesn’t support them and that’s a huge part of the market they aren’t getting. For what ever reason. Games are a huge part of the market. Possibly the largest part of the market.

      When a Mac can play Battle 1 I’m there. But they don’t: https://www.reddit.com/r/Battlefield/comments/55i5j5/is_battlefield_1_coming_out_on_mac/ not very smart but then they have so much money who cares. They don’t.

      Back to the suggestion. I will do that because I’m someone that can actually read and spell as you can. 😉

      I guess what I like about PCs is I can build them myself. I build everything myself, models, cars, boats, submarines and a whole lot more.

      • January 29, 2017 at 9:45 am

        Well of course you can run any Windows game on a Mac via Parallels or Boot Camp. There is also Steam on MacOS. But I’m so not into games, a total waste of my time. I’m into more creative pursuits like you (when do you find the time for games??). I prefer towers too, hopefully a new Mac Pro will reflect more pro sensibilities and greater upgradeability. I’ve used both too and PC’s in my experience are the stuff of nightmares. Especially with custom builds if all the components aren’t right, or you don’t use a big enough power supply & good cooling. Many pro’s use Macs over PC’s, especially in areas like video editing. 3D seems to enjoy the PC crowd more with more apps available and extension into render farms – even using Linux for rendering. Ideally you’d have both Macs & PC’s. I am just in my comfort zone using Macs and don’t feel any barriers in my way as I do with PC’s. But once you are ensconced in an app, well, who cares?

        Yes a true BTO Mac would be a dream come true, but I don’t think I want the problems of a Hackintosh. Who knows? I may build a PC Workstation someday. As always the best PC is one not connected to the Internet. Once everything’s working to your satisfaction with minimal issues it’s best to leave it alone and disconnecting vital I would think.


Leave a Reply

January 2017
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 298 other followers


