11
Aug
17

Beyond Communion Comics lost art

It was back in 95 I met Martin Powell. He is a distinguished successful comic book writer. He had a deep interest in the Visitor experience and wanted to create a Communion comic book based on Whitley Strieber’s work.

We set about making up two prototype mock-ups to shop to Caliber Comics if me memory serves me well.

For the first one Martin wrote a story based on some he knew who had an experience. I did all the art work in colored pencil, and my late with Gilly did the lettering.

I recently found the original artwork I thought was lost. It was in a binder well protected for the last 20 years or more. I also found the actual comics that later went into print. I found a few of them. Maybe 10. I’m thinking of having Whitley and I sign them and offering them to collectors.

Notice the ad for Dreamland effects my old company.

I’m so glad I found this little part of history. I believe somewhere I have the second prototype too which was all black and white.

Enjoy and have joy.

Steve

Please click on the mosaic to enter the larger pictures and then select in the bottom right the see full sized image.

 


0 Responses to “Beyond Communion Comics lost art”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

August 2017
M T W T F S S
« Jul    
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 299 other followers


